Looking for desktop Oauth example.

Sep 6, 2010 at 12:12 AM

I am trying to rework the Linq2Twitter example to work on a desktop.  From the program.cs, I am looking for a good way to obtain the ConsumerKey, ConsumerSecret and the Pin.  I see in the demo, the app is returning Console.Readline but im confused on returning it to where?  I would like to have seperate config form, and I believe i should pass to the form the object that handles all of this.  Without all of the docs on Linq2Twitter, im lost on what is really going on...  would I pass the var oauth? 

im also confused on the oauth.GetVerifier = () => line... im fairly new to Linq.  i understand LinqtoXML but lambda expressions I am not.  I have asked a few questions here and have seen others ask, but I never see any answers.  Is there a better place for support?  Joe, help us lol.

private static void InitializeOAuthConsumerStrings(TwitterContext twitterCtx)
        {
            var oauth = (DesktopOAuthAuthorization)twitterCtx.AuthorizedClient;
            oauth.GetVerifier = () =>
            {
                Console.WriteLine("Next, you'll need to tell Twitter to authorize access.\nThis program will not have access to your credentials, which is the benefit of OAuth.\nOnce you log into Twitter and give this program permission,\n come back to this console.");
                Console.Write("Please enter the PIN that Twitter gives you after authorizing this client: ");
                return Console.ReadLine();
            };

if (oauth.CachedCredentialsAvailable)
            {
                Console.WriteLine("Skipping OAuth authorization step because that has already been done.");
            }
        }
Coordinator
Sep 11, 2010 at 9:23 PM

Hi,

There's actually two points of extensibility that you can find in Program.cs.  First, there's an if statement, checking the config files for your tokens.