Simple status update in Twitter

Mar 23, 2012 at 8:36 PM

Hello! I'm trying to create a console application to simply update an status in my twitter account, I've seen similar discussions throughout the forum, however, I'm new to Twitter AND C#. Anyway I'm using the LinqtoTwitterDemo and now it runs without errors, my question is very simple: What do I have to change (maybe in the method DumpJoeFriends) to update the status of my account (named ozigee123 or whatever). My application was created, I have the consumerKey and consummerSecret, etc.

Thank you :)

Coordinator
Mar 23, 2012 at 8:49 PM

Hi,

There's a method on the TwitterContext named UpdateStatus, which you would use like this:

twitterCtx.UpdateStatus("<Your text goes here>");

You'll need to authorize with OAuth for this to work, so take the PIN option in the demo.  After you're authorized, you can call UpdateStatus.

There's an example of this in the StatusDemos.cs file.  There's more info here too:

http://linqtotwitter.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Updating%20Statuses&referringTitle=Making%20Status%20Queries%20and%20Calls

Joe

Mar 23, 2012 at 9:25 PM

Wow! That was fast! Thank you for your response Joe.

Please, let me know if I got this correctly: I have to use the PIN option (the one that asks for a 7 digits number) right? Is there a way to avoid the user to type this and just catch it from a returned value?

Do I have to specify somewhere the name of the account of which status is going to be updated?

Thanks,

Ozi

Coordinator
Mar 23, 2012 at 9:38 PM