how to authenticate through linq-to-twitter?

Nov 18, 2012 at 7:35 PM
Edited Nov 18, 2012 at 7:56 PM

Hello - I'm brand new to Linq-to-Twitter - just started using it today. I'm getting a TwitterQueryException ("Bad Authentication Data"). I guess I need to understand the InMemoryCredentials properties.  At dev.twitter.com the OAuth tool shows me the following OAuth Settings:

1. Consumer key
2. Consumer secret
3. Access token
4. Access token secret

Properties 1-3 of the Twitter OAuth tool OAuth Settings map directly to InMemoryCredentials properties. However, I'm not sure about the proper mapping of "Access token secret." I saw an example online that looked something like the following: 

var authorize = new PinAuthorizer           
{                
Credentials = new InMemoryCredentials                
{                   
ConsumerKey = "9o0coGkh2zEjGFalkeXXX",                    
ConsumerSecret = "ZkEiPnm6atI8iuiJ7xkZne5wam3Q0uH0KZ2svJiXXX",             
AccessToken = "50993680-t5yF23ct3vJCaFwS0U5a8KuwdomezGd2dPlHGXXX",                        
OAuthToken = "xKXvNVkswCbuJSpdKMqrbQOZsgq7mx8Bs218F03XXX"             
}            
};

I'm currently using my "Access token secret" value from the Twitter OAuth tool for the InMemoryCredentials OAuthToken property value but I'm not sure if that's correct or if that may be causing my issue.  Here's the code where I pass the authorize token and API urs into the TwitterContext:

var twitterCtx = new TwitterContext(authorize, "https://api.twitter.com/1.1/", "https://api.twitter.com/1.1/statuses/user_timeline.json");

So am I misunderstanding the mapping of the InMemoryCredentials OAuthToken property? How can I fix my "Bad Authentication Data" error?

Coordinator
Nov 18, 2012 at 7:52 PM

Hi,