Newbie Question on Search

Nov 4, 2011 at 1:46 AM

Hi all,

I am really grateful for Linq to Twitter, it is really an outstanding implementation! I am new to the Twitter API in general, so I am trying to understand how to best collect *all* search results for a specific search term (or as many as possible) with C#. I have the following example right now to execute a search, which is working well:

var queryResultBase =
                from search in context.Search
                    search.Type == SearchType.Search
                    && search.Query == query
                    && search.ResultType == ResultType.Mixed
                select search;

So what I am trying to understand is, how do I ensure that I capture all results, from oldest to newest? I get using the MaxID and SinceID to move backwards and forwards, but ideally I would want to start with a set of the oldest results, then move forward by date until I was up to the most recent results. When I tested looping through the SinceID collection, I appear to get large gaps in my search results by day; some days look complete and others barely have any data.

I'm not sure if I am explaining this well, but any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Nov 4, 2011 at 10:35 PM

In addition to Since, SinceID, and MaxID, you also have Page and PageSize to help you work with results.  Here are all the available parameters:

I'm not sure about the consistency of the results, but I do know that Twitter will only return results for a certain period.  I'm not sure what that period of time really is and I don't recall seeing any definitive info from Twitter on how far back a search will go.